5/2 NY Yankees 12 vs Chicago White Sox 3

There were a few changes in the line up today, Alex Rodriguez was off, as first Girardi said he just needed a rest, then later it came out that he was a little sore. Ramiro Pena replaced him at 3rd base, then later Jeter came out, Pena moved to short stop and Francisco Cervelli took over 3rd base. Nick Johnson was at first and Mark Teixeira was the designated hitter. Curtis Granderson was hurt yesterday, he pulled a groin muscle rounding second so Brett Gardner was put in center field and Marcus Thames was in left field.

Another stellar performance by Phil Hughes, and the rest of the team was phenomenal. Every time the ball was hit to left field I was holding my breath, Marcus Thames is not as good defensively as he is offensively. But he did fine, he actually made a great sliding catch. It looked to me that as he was running toward the ball he was yelling that he had it, then when he jumped up with the ball still in his glove everybody was clapping him on his back. Phil Hughes pitched 7 scoreless innings while the Yankees scored 12. The CWA were shut out until the ninth inning. Mark Melancon was the relief pitcher and the eighth inning was scoreless but in the ninth, one of the White Sox hit a home run with two men on base. I was quite upset that they only won by 9 runs when they could have won by 12. Heee!

Offensively the Yanks were hot, obviously. First Gardner brings Cano in on a single. Then Gardner hit a home run. This pitcher has never had a base stolen while he pitches. We know Gardner loves to steal bases so instead of walking him he threw one over the plate and Brett hit it over the wall into the seats. The next home run was by Robinson Cano, it was a three run home run. Thames hit a pop up that the infield missed just glanced off one of their gloves. Then Swisher hits a two run home run. Had to outdo Gardner I guess. Hee hee, Mark hit 4 out of 5, Kasey and I think it was being hit during the spring training affecting his hitting. No home runs but hitting pretty good now. A good game to win the series and make up for yesterday’s not so good game.


~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

5/1 NY Yankees 6 vs Chicago White Sox 7

Friday on the way home Kasey was saying she might suggest going to the game today if D was feeling better (he had teeth pulled Thursday) since he won’t be able to do anything after next Tuesday (surgery for Prostate Cancer). I remember thinking, “Well if they do I will stay home so I can do some things around the house and get some work done on the computer.”

Saturday CIMG0035.jpgmorning D knocked on my door, “You want to go the game with M and Sarah and me?” Did is stick to my plan? Or did I think, “Sarah needs someone to show her how to behave at ball games and how to cheer for her team.” So off to the game we went.
D bought 4 tickets, 2 each in different sections. He and Kasey were overlooking 1st base and Sarah and I were overlooking right field and the bullpen. Main difference they were in Grandstand (shade) and we were in Terrace (no shade). 
Javier Vasquez was starting pitcher and he was not good. The bullpen was also not good. The team rallied, but then somebody gave up a home run with men on base. Swisher hit his first at home home run and made some great catches, but it just wasn’t enough. There were some nice things, though, the two older gentlemen  sitting next to us complemented me on my NYY logo tattoo (I put on a new one right above my butterfly) and asked me if my nail polish was Yankee blue. I also got an education in old men’s health problems (eww) not by them talking to me, I could overhear them talking to each other. One talked about the time he was taken out of Yankee stadium by ambulance and as they were leaving asked, “If I get done at the E.R. before the game ends, can I come back?” I would have asked the same thing. 
CIMG0017.jpgIt was a bright sunny day and we were sitting right in the sun. I was wearing tank top and shorts and forgot to put on my sunscreen. I got very hot and sunburned. My legs got very sunburned and my back and shoulders here, you can see, except for where the temporary tattoo was. Today I asked Nick to spray Solarcaine on it and when he saw the NY he cracked up.

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

4/30 NY Yankees 6 vs Chicago White Sox 4

CIMG0033.jpg

I love going to games. I really do, even if it means I get home at midnight and eat all the wrong stuff and drink too much (although for me any more then 1 beer is too much). One thing that I like is that the Yankees win when I go. Seriously they do, every time. I wear my dangly NYY earrings when I go. I like going to games so much I even got a New York Yankee logo tattoo. OK its a temporary tattoo.
Tonight was no exception, even with Chicago White Sox taking the lead early and sitting in front of a drunk stupid b—- girl. Besides being drunk and stupid, she knew nothing about baseball or the players and she spilled beer on Kasey’s head. She is the reason I don’t take my knife to games.
It was a great time, on the way home Kasey was talking about maybe coming tomorrow (Saturday) if D is feeling up to it (he had teeth pulled Thursday), since he won’t feel like doing much for a while after his surgery next Tuesday.
Below is a brief recap.
1st inning: CWS got a 3 run homer.
NYY: Derek singles, Mark walked, Derek to 2nd, Alex doubles, Derek scores. Robbison Cano (he is red hot right now) singles and Mark scores. End of the inning score: CWS 3, NYY 2
2nd or 3rd inning, I thought Alex had tagged Lucy, it looked like it from where I say, the umpire said no, Lucy scored, umpires fault. End of the inning score: CWS 4, NYY 2
Nothing from either team until: 
5th inning: The Yankees had a run down, Derek caught the ball, runner going to 3rd, so he threw it to Alex, runner heads back, Alex throws to Robbie at second, runner starts back to 3rd see Alex not at 3rd base, didn’t look ahead to 3rd to see Derek at third, Robbie to Derek, runner out. 
NYY: Brett Gardner singled, stole 2nd, then Derek hit a home run. You might not think the stolen base was useful but it is, cause it really annoys the pitcher. We like it when the other team’s pitcher gets annoyed. CWS 4, NYY 4
7th inning: Alfredo Aceves comes in to pitch for Andy.
NYY: Francisco Cervelli was HBP, Brett Gardner singles, Derek Jeter hits a triple, Frankie and Brett score. End of inning score: CWS 4, NYY 6
Damaso Marte and Joba Chamberlain also pitched, then Mariano for the 9th, end of the ballgame.
Robinson Cano finished April with .400 batting average and currently has a 9 game hitting streak.

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote