Home run #40 not a problem, we’ve got the broom

~~ Yankees 9, Blue Jays 3 ~~

The first I heard of this game was a Facebook post from Kasey, “I did not want Jose Bautista to get his 40th home run at Yankee Stadium! Thanks Soriano! Grrr” My reply to her, was mangled, but what I tried to say was, “Who cares if he gets #40, we swept them.” His home run didn’t help his team win, his home run record is meaningless and the thought that he is in the running for MVP is ludicrous. If Cano didn’t get it because ‘you can’t give MVP to a player who’s team is in 3rd place’, then Jose Bautista, whose team is 17 games out of first place, shouldn’t even be on the ballet. So the Blue Jays got a home run, Yankees got 3 home runs, and 9 runs to the Blue Jays 3 and the Blue Jays are swept out of town. As a team the Yankees have 193 home runs to the Blue Jays 166, suck on that Jose.

CC is now 19-7, this is the third year in a row he has had at least 19 runs. Which is why he is our ace and why we beg Cashman, “Please give CC whatever he wants!!” And before I forget:

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ Sunday, September 4, 2011 😛

Closer of the future?

~~ Yankees 6, Blue Jays 4 ~~

When Bartolo left the game the Blue Jays were ahead by one. That is why he doesn’t get the win, even thought the Yankees ended up winning the game.

This was an unusual game. With Teixeira out because he got hit by a pitch Thursday, Nick Swisher was first baseman, Andruw Jones was in right field. He did fantastic yesterday, he jumped and snagged a fly ball by Jose, I felt so bad for Jose (not really). And Francisco Cervelli hit a home run. The only thing not unusual about that was instead of being in my seat watching the game, I was in line getting food.

After the 4th or 5th inning we went to the Mohegan Sun Sports Bar. I had never been in there before, if you get a seat by the window, you can look out right over center field. You almost get the feeling you are sitting in center field. Of course there is glass so you can’t yell at the players like you can when you are in the bleachers and photography is not allowed. I kind of wanted to take a picture of the sign that said that. Gary ordered spring rolls, which were kind of like cheesesteak in spring roll wrappers, little bits of steak and cheese. I really wanted jalapeño poppers, but compromised, next time I said. Gary said sure, for the post season. Yeah right, like he’s going to bring me to a post season game. Hasn’t happened yet.

Bottom of the seventh the Blue Jays are still ahead, two men on, two outs and Cano comes up to bat. At the full count I looked at B and said, “Robbie’s going to do it, he’s going to hit a home run.” I was wrong, no home run, but the two runs scored put the Yankees a run ahead and Swisher’s single brought Robbie home.

Dave Robertson came in for the eight and ninth innings. Considering that Mo had pitched in 4 of the last 5 games he was due a rest, not only that, I think Joe wanted to see if Dave could get 6 outs in a game, just in case he takes over for Mo IF it ever becomes necessary. The 8th inning was 1-2-3, in the 9th Brett Lawrie doubled, and since we know Dave loves the added pressure of the tying run at the plate, ball game over, Yankees win.

When you leave Mohegan Sun the stairs are right there and they go right outside, kind of like your own private gate and on this day they were giving away Turkey Hill Mint Ice cream with oreo cookies. So I continued stuffing my face.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ Saturday, September 3, 2011 😛