Seriously people?

Tonight is the first game of the World Series, and despite my prediction from last night the Red Sox are killing the Cardinals. But there is something else I want to get off my chest.

FenwayYankeeStadiumWhen the Red Sox won the ALCS it was a jubilant moment. All of Red Sox Nation was leaping for joy and chanting, “Yankees Suck”. At least that was what I was told, I didn’t really believe it …. then I saw this picture. The person who posted it was proud of it, and several other people thought it was nice enough to repost it. I just want to say, “Are you _______ kidding me?”

First, with half their starting line up out with injuries, the Yankees ended up in third place, they were in the race for the post-season until the last week of regular season play. That is not a definition of a team that sucks. So NO they don’t suck.

Secondly, why are people so obsessed with the Yankees that they can’t give credit to the fine playing of their players? Every baseball player plays to make it to the World Series, it is considered baseball’s greatest accomplishment to make it to the World Series. So they have made it and what are their fans doing? Their fans can’t stop talking about the Yankees. Think about this, only one team in the American League goes to the World Series, so Red Sox fans could have posted a picture like this from any team, but they picked the Yankees.

E_CardIt’s stupid. For those of you who come back with a “NO WE’RE NOT OBSESSED WITH THE YANKEES.” Why do keep talking about them? Why don’t you just go cheer for your team and leave us the ____ alone? If the Yankees were in the World Series I wouldn’t be tearing down another team, I would be supporting my team every chance I got. Because with my team in World Series every other team (except the other team in the World Series) is irrelevant.

Now the game is over, 8-1 Red Sox. Ugh, and good night.

