Still the best

The Yankees may be in second place in the AL East but to me they are still the best. The fact that last week they were in third place and this week are in second place and the team that was in second place is now in fourth place shows you just why the saying is: “It’s a long season.” These are Yankees we are talking about not the Mets.

Right now I am waiting for the game to start at 4:00 p.m., yes it is a West coast game. The Yankees have won two of three of a four game series. Depending on what happens today they could win or split. Since Boston (first place) is winning I would really like the Yankees to WIN TODAY!

After this series the Yankees head south to play the Athletics then the Angels. I haven’t been watching the games because the Yankees were losing every time I watched. I am willing to make this sacrifice for my team, since I can still get my baseball fix by watching college ball, for a little while.

So while we’re waiting for today’s game, some interesting things from yesterday in baseball.

First up the Yankees, Andy Pettitte got career win number 250, on the same day his son was drafted by the Yankees. The Yankees also drafted Paul O’Neill’s nephew, Michigan outfielder Michael O’Neill, in the third round.

There were three games with free baseball: Texas vs. Toronto, 3-4(Toronto) 18 innings; Miami vs. NYM, 2-1(Miami) 20 innings; Minnesota vs. Washington, 4-3(Minnesota) 11 innings (amateurs).

In other sports, Nadal Captures His Eighth French Open Title (tennis ~ YAWN), the only excitement there was a protester jumping on the court with a flare. Palace Malice a long Shot wins the 145th Belmont Stakes. The no triple crown winner drought continues.

