Today was a fun day in the city

Kasey finally made it to the city and we had a blast, eating chicken with hot garlic sauce, going to get tea in SoHo and what else? Oh, baseball.

~~ Yankees 3, Blue Jays 2 ~~

Kasey checked first and said that we needed to find a bar to watch the game, cause the Yankees were behind. So we started walking and looking, actually she did all the looking since I didn’t have my glasses on. By the time we found someplace it was 8th inning and the Yankees were ahead. We got to watch Mo pitch.

Kasey said that Sarah has decided to ‘like’ Overbay until Curtis gets back. She was concerned that it might not be all right to continue to like him after Curtis returns, Kasey said, “It’s fine, you can have more than one ballplayer.” I’ve kind of lost track of how many baseball players are on my ‘like’ list. In other news around baseball, the Tigers swept the Braves, 10-0, 7-4 and 8-3. It’s kind of sweet. And in a bizarre turn of events in Chicago, On his off day, Rays RHP Jeremy Hellickson was ejected after the seventh inning after he yelled at home plate umpire Tom Hallion from the dugout.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

Game 24
Yankees 15-9 (0.624)

 photo image0099.gif

Good day for baseball, bad day for me.

That’s not entirely accurate. It wasn’t really a bad day, I got my work done, I got to go to the ball game, the Yankees won, I was just upset because my friend couldn’t make it to the city to visit.

~~ Yankees 5, Blue Jays 4 ~~

20130428-201732.jpgA friend of mine had tickets to this game so I was able to go. We arranged to meet at “Little Cuba” before the game to have a couple beers. Cheaper than inside the stadium and we don’t have to drink them in plastic cups. His train was late so I was kind of wandering around before looking at stuff. I decided to add to my Yankee stash with some ‘bling’. Rose refers to this as my ‘Purple Pinstripe Power’. There is not much else to do on the street across from the stadium, so after buying that I walked on to wait for my friend. After he got there and we had a few beers we started back to the stadium. He went in a store, he wanted to get something Yankee for his grandson. They had some really cute t-shirts that said, “Daddy’s little home run hitter.” The only problem is, the baby’s mom is the Yankee fan. He decided on a little hat and then we went in the stadium. Before heading up to my seat I walked around to a few stands looking for an opening day pin. I had bought one before at the stadium, but this time I wasn’t able to find one.

It was a pretty nice day to be at the ball park. Not too cold, but I probably should have worn pants instead of a skirt, I wasn’t really cold, just a little uncomfortable. We had to put up with Jays fans. I always seem to be around the other teams fans when I go to games. The only time they really annoyed me was when I went to get something to eat, they were standing in front of me and just milling around and getting in the way. I realize that they had to come to the concession stand to get beer (there is a two drink minimum when buying beer) but the way the men were standing, in front of the register, between lines, drinking the beer that had already been poured and laughing and talking was unnecessary.

20130428-201813.jpgWhat else happened? When Travis came up to bat in the fourth with two men on I said, “Hafner home run.” After he hit the home run I turned to Gary and said, “I just realized I have a Haffner jerser (#33).” After the 7th inning, which is when the Yankees took back the lead, the Jays fans sitting in front of us turned their hats into rally caps, like this and another man turned his cap inside out. I yelled down, “Your rally caps won’t help them!” CC pitched a 1,2,3 inning and Joba came in to pitch the 9th, with two men on base Melky came up, Gary said, “The Melk-man!” and I replied, “No deliveries from the Melk-man tonight.” He grounded out. This is another reason I go to games, the Yankees need me to win. What would they do without me to tell them to hit home-runs and get batters to ground out? Think about it.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛