Not crying

This post is not about the game. A horrid I don’t want to even think about it game. Want to know what happened? If you’re a fan why weren’t you watching?

Before I turned on the game my phone buzzed and there was a tweet:

I started scrolling through my timeline, it looked like Mariano had twisted his knee, that’s what I read, I watched the clip, it didn’t look good. He was shagging fly balls. Something he does with regularity. He has even said he could play center field. Others have said he is great at it. Stepping off the grass onto the dirt he took a misstep he fell, he had to be carried off the field.

This was all being talked about during this game where Phelps gave it his best and the offense was, just not there. WAKE UP YOU SLACKERS!! We heard nothing. Twitter was buzzing that this was not a good thing. Twitter was right, sometimes I hate it when Twitter is right. A torn ACL and he said meniscus. I’m not a doctor, but I know both are not good. The prognosis is he will be out for the season, it may be the end of his career.

After the game most of the questions were about Mariano, I remember Alex’s the most, he was out there, on the video you could see him yelling for Joe and Steve Donohue, when asked about what happened, he said he saw Mo go down, he paused, “I don’t want to talk about it.” That is something I’ve noticed about Alex, whether he admits it or not, he know what is going on. I remember when Jeter crashed into the seats after catching a pop-up, Alex was the one calling for the trainer. Kasey told me he keeps track of who gets his first hit, making sure the ball is retrieved. He’s a detail kind of guy, but with the “I don’t want to talk about it.” You also see he is a feeling kind of guy too. Then he said, “We’re the NY Yankees, nobody is going to feel sorry for us, we have to still go out and get it done.” That’s a thought I am carrying with me.

Nobody is going to feel sorry for us as fans. We have already seen some of the hate on twitter, which I won’t repeat here. I did say I hope they DIAF, which I don’t really mean. So we have to carry on, like the team is going to do. Jeter said, “Nobody else can be Mo. What they can do is their job.” With Mo gone, now someone has to step in and fill that role. David says he doesn’t know if he’s ready, he doesn’t pitch like Mo, he has his own style. Well his style is pretty damn effective. I have faith in him, I have faith in the Yankees. They will find a way to get it done.

One more thing, anyone who doesn’t have respect for Mariano, when asked if he was going back to New York tomorrow he said, “No, I’m going to stay here a few days I want to make sure the guys are all right.” That is the time of man he is, and even though he would not approve, those people can just go DIAF.

