Red Sox Lose

On Twitter I tweeted that one of my favorite things is hearing “Saltalamacchia strikes out.” Not just because he’s a Red Sox, but also because I love saying his name, it’s kind of musical. Saltalamacchia gets a hit, isn’t nearly as musical a phrase.

One of my other favorite things is hearing, the Red Sox Lose. Doesn’t matter who they are playing. Today it was the Tigers. Red Sox tied the game in the top of the ninth (thank you very much Valverde you fat clown) and then the Tigers loaded the bases (thank you Aceves for hitting a batter) and got a man in.

This brings up a rule about baseball that I never understand, I mean I understand the rule, I don’t understand the reasoning behind it and it seems blatantly unfair to me. It is also one of the reasons that wins are not a true measure of a pitchers greatness, or lack thereof.

Justin Verlander started the game, he pitched 8 innings of shut-out ball, 2 hits, 7 strikeouts. Then Valverde comes in top of the 9th, 3 hits, 2 runs, blows the save and since the game is tied Verlander no longer gets the win. Then the Tigers get a run in the bottom of the ninth, and …. wait for it …. Valverde gets the win. Not only did he not ‘win’ this game, he tied it and is the reason the Tigers had to play the ninth inning! He almost lost the game and he gets a win on his record. I wonder if he danced off the mound when he got the last out.

Rant over. Yankees opening day is tomorrow, home opener a week from tomorrow.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

