Phil is looking better ~ Sunday, July 17, 2011

~~ Yankees 7, Blue Jays 2 ~~

When I saw Phil Hughes ERA (10.57) I almost cried, almost because he was on the D.L. for a reason. It was also an almost because at the time the score was 5-2 (YAY), and now Phil’s ERA is 8.44 and his WHIP is 1.73, which I don’t quite understand, I just know that it should be closer to 1.00, which I am sure is the direction it is going now. Phil’s line was 6 innings pitched, 4 hits, 2 earned runs, 2 walks and 5 K’s. Welcome back Phil.

Cory Wade and David both pitched hitless inning and then Boone came in for the 9th (Boone Logan for closer, don’t panic I’m just kidding), I guess since it wasn’t a save situation and Mo threw almost 30 pitches yesterday Joe decided Boone could handle it, and he did.

Phil also got run support from Swisher, Martin, Granderson, Cano and Pena (yes, Pena). Plenty of run support, surprisingly not from our regular guys. However, I will take it. On to Tampa and more playing on fake grass and dirt. Blech.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

