Pros and Cons of A Ball ~ Monday, June 20, 2011

No not a ball, “A” ball, as in minor league baseball. I like going its fun. What I like: since its minor league, I am more relaxed, the outcome isn’t as important to me. The stadium is small (a foul ball flew over my head) so you are closer to the action. Dutchess Stadium is less then a 15 minute drive from my house and it doesn’t matter what lane I am in when leaving, I can get home easily whether I turn right or left. There is entertainment between innings. There are funny sound effects. You don’t have to drink beer out of a plastic cup, you can keep the can (yes I know). They have blue Gatorade (I’m addicted). Fireworks viewed through 3-D glasses are freaking awesome!!

Things I don’t like: The stadium is small (a foul ball flew over my head) so you are closer to the action. I don’t feel like I am at a “real” baseball game. The Heineken Light is in a can. There is a teenage boy (maybe early 20’s) walking around wearing a cowboy hat and carrying a stuffed hobby horse encouraging people to do the Wave (Besides not liking the Wave, I think it is poor form to do it when your team is losing). 5 foot tall raccoon Mascots walking around the stadium.

It was the home opener, and the Renegades lost to the Baby Yankees. I was texting and tweeting all through the game, things like, “Why are there kids playing baseball?” “The umpire is 20 years old.” “Now batting for the Yankees, the short stop #2, not Derek Jeter.” “#52 is pitching. Not CC Sabathia” “Where is David Robertson? We need strikes!” At the end of the game, Kasey sent me a text message, “Grown-up Yankees win”. Sarah and I were rooting against the home team. It felt strange. Then I gave the rest of my money to the firemen collecting outside the gates. Well one of them was wearing a Derek Jeter shirt. Need I say more?

~~ Yankees 5, Reds 3 ~~

Nova was great, picking up his 7th win. He held the Reds to 1 run over 8 innings. He was at bat 3 times but no hits. The other two runs came in the ninth inning when Ayala let a batter get on base, and then Logan hit Joey Votto with his first pitch. So Mariano came in and got his 18th save of the season.

Speaking of Mo. Does everyone in baseball think Mariano is a god? I was reading comments by Puppybone about him. He was saying how much respect he has for Mariano, how he is a mentor to him and defined the role of closer in baseball. And anther closer, whose name I don’t remember, can’t even remember what team it was, saying how good Mariano is and how he’s been that good for years.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

