Yankees win, Rays lose. Life is sweet

Someone wrote or tweeted, I don’t remember, that Freddy Garcia wasn’t a good pitcher. I also don’t remember who said it, they could have been joking or sarcastic. While I don’t think Garcia is a great pitcher, I do think he is good. I’ll even go as far as to say, very good. I am basing this opinion on what I have seen so far, not just his numbers, which are respectable. His ERA was 2.88 coming into this game and now has dropped to 2.61, and he pitched into the 7th inning. His WHIP is 1.32 and while I don’t know what it means I understand that is not great. But watching him pitch, he doesn’t lose his cool, he fields his position well and he gives the Yankees a chance to win.

Recently I watched Jim Abbott’s no hitter in 1993. Sometime during the game one of the announcers said, “The Yankees lead the League in grounding into double plays.” I almost fell off my chair laughing. Then I started thinking about it, maybe they lead into grounding into double plays, because they get so many men on base. I mean, if a team isn’t getting men on base, there are no base runners for the other team to force out. Ever think about that?

~~Yankees 3, Royals 1~~

The Royals like to run and steal bases, fortunately we have pitchers (Freddy Garcia) and a catcher (Russell Martin) that like to pick off runners. Freddy Garcia made an amazing catch, a pop up bunt, then in the same inning he and Russell picked off a runner on second.

Gardner started things off with a triple. Then Jeter with his 2,961st career hit brings him home. The Royals answered with a solo home run by former Yankee Melky Cabrera, nice to see you, don’t hit any more home runs this series. All right?

Yankees scored 2 runs in the 5th, Garcia, with a little help from Robertson (fist pumping high socks!) and Rivera, kept the Royals to 1 run.

In other news, the Boston Red Sox lost to the Blue Jays in extra innings, Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Indians. This puts the NY Yankees in first place by .5 games.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

