Split the series

After last nights miserable loss, this game was a delight. Watching Bartolo Colon pitch I was thinking, ‘Phil better get his shit together or he’s out of a job.’ (Yeah I went there.) 6 almost perfect innings. His numbers: 6.2 innings, 5 hits, 2 runs and 7 strike outs. His ERA has come down to 3.50 and he now has 20 strike outs. He left the game with Yankees ahead and today, the bullpen did not let him down, well Pendleton almost did and Soriano ‘made things interesting’. I’m sure Joe told him, ‘Nice you got us the save, but DON’T EVER DO THAT AGAIN!’ And Soriano picks up his first save of the game.

~~Yankees 6, Blue Jays 2~~

I didn’t get to see all the game, which is why I am now watching the encore presentation, I don’t know how I’m going to manage getting up tomorrow. Anyway, when I was watching the highlights I saw two plays that made me go “WOW”. One Robbie caught the ball, tagged the runner going to 2nd and threw the ball to Mark. Robbie was so quick, in one smooth movement he caught the ball, and just kind of came forward put his arm out and got the runner. It was WOW. The second was a long fly ball to Swisher that he threw in and Mark caught, and for some reason there were two men on third base. So he ran across the diamond and tagged both of them. That was funny, Ken Singleton said, “Only one man allowed on a base in major league baseball.” Mark hit three doubles and most of the runs in this game were not by home run.

And I have a theory about why David Robertson is so cool, calm and collected when he comes in. If he comes in with bases loaded, any runs scored by those men on base are the previous pitchers responsibility. So it doesn’t count against his E.R.A. I’m not saying he doesn’t care about winning, but since it doesn’t hurt him personally, he can be a little more settled in his head and that makes it easier for him to do that magic thing with his fastball and curve.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~ 😛

