Rivera and Jeets

are coming back to the Yankees. I’m not surprised, I never thought either of them would go anywhere else. I don’t know if Jeter got any other offers, but I know Rivera was offered a contract by the Red Sox. Excuse me for a minute while I choke, gag and laugh. Did the Red Sox seriously think Mo would play for any team but the Yankees? Really?

Mo is getting $15 million a year for the next two year. I took the number of innings he pitched in 2010. If he pitches the same amount in 2011, he will be getting paid $250,000 an inning. I’m not really clear on Jeter’s contract, but it looks to me like between $17 and $18 million a year for the next 4 years. Do not slam me if I’m wrong. In all the blogs I read about how much Jeter is ‘worth’, that is the number that was being kicked around. I wonder if Jeter reads blogs. Maybe Cashman does?

Of course it’s not a done deal, they both have to pass physicals. Now we have to get Andy back. There is rumor he is retiring, I think that rumor goes around every year. I’m not as sure of Andy coming back. I know he won’t be playing for any other team. And for those of you who say that statement is hubris on the part of the Yankees, Andy is the one that said, “Yankees or retirement.” Cashman is still waiting to hear from him. I think we need to talk to Mrs. Pettitte, anybody got her number?

And the push for Lee begins. Meh, I don’t care one way or the other about Lee. I mean it would be nice to get him, but I don’t think Yankees really need him.

~~ Questo è tutto, dice la principessa ~~😛

