Giants vs Rangers ~ Fans vs Player’s wives

Thursday I went up to the mall to get my hair done. This is a new place for me. I wasn’t thinking about baseball because even though game 2 of the World Series was being played, the Yankees weren’t playing. Imagine my surprise when I got home and baseball was on the T.V. Kasey says, “It’s baseball, even if its not the Yankees.” Giants were ahead 2 runs, it was the bottom of the 8th, and Texas was walking batters. The Texas pitcher ended up walking in 2 runs and then the Giants started hitting the ball. It looked to me (but I’m no expert) like Texas was throwing fast balls over the middle of the plate. San Francisco scored 7 runs in the 8th inning.

In my last post I was going to talk about Cliff Lee’s wife and what happened with the fans. Then I decided it has gotten enough press, and who really needs or cares to know my opinion? That made me wonder, why did she wait until after the game to say something, and why did she say it to the press? I’ve been to games and there are constant announcements about, “If you have a concern …”, “Any guest that doesn’t feel safe …”, ect. can contact guest services, and then the number is give where you can send a text message. I’m pretty sure the wife of a major league pitcher has a cell phone with a text plan. So if she was being spit at and had beer thrown at her, why didn’t she contact guest services?

Don’t take this to mean that I think she was lying, or that I think it is acceptable to spit or throw beer or yell profanity at a person (any person) I am just thinking out loud. I have not had to contact guest services or security for anything while at a game, I think that speaks to the awareness of the security staff. Also, I have seen NYPD officers all over the stadium, since spitting can be considered assault, she could have (should have) told them. Maybe she just wanted to stir things up a little. I don’t know.

~~and that’s all~~ lo dice la principessa

😛

