Yankees sweep the Twins ~ and I’m (sad) happy

~~Yankees 6, Twins 1~~

Broom.gif

Kasey and I were in the city, we both had massage appointments. We were on the train home when the game started. Kasey gets Twitter posts from Bryan Hoch on her phone. Before the game she asks me, “So do we be good fans and hope Phil has a good day? Or be selfish fans and hope he melts down?” My answer to her was, “We hope Phil has a good day, but we hope the bats fall asleep.” Its his first start and I didn’t want him crying in the dugout. I hate when pitchers cry. With her first tweet from Bryan she turns to me with a pout, “Phil with a 1-2-3 inning.” We got home during the 4th inning Brian Duensing had just been replaced by Matt Guerrier and the score was 5-0 Yankees. So I did have to look at a pitcher crying in the dugout, it wasn’t Phil, but it still made me sad, as did the knowledge that I wouldn’t be going to a postseason game the next day.

Phil picked a great night to get filthy. Seven shut-out innings, and our bats were alive from the beginning. The Yankees broke a streak of sorts by jumping ahead of the Twins from the start. Normally the Twins score first. In the eighth inning the Twins attempted a rally of sorts, taking advantage of Kerry Wood’s lack of command and loading up the bases. Joe quickly pulled him and put in Boone Logan (who got his batter out with 1 pitch) and then David “High Socks” Robertson to end the inning. Twins scored one run.

That was it, Mariano came in the ninth, stick a fork in the Twins, they’re done and the Yankees are ALDS champions. So do I get a shirt now, or wait for the next round?

~~and that’s all~~ lo dice la principessa

😛

