Monday, September 27, 2010 ~ I was truly sad

~~Blue Jays 7, Yankees 5~~

A.J. Burnett was the starting pitcher. His numbers for the game are: 2.1 innings pitched, 7 hits and 7 earned runs. No I’m not kidding, after him Albaladejo (or as Kasey’s boss calls him ‘Apple-a-day-o’), Moseley, Robertson, Logan and Gaudin managed to hold the Blue Jays to those 7 runs. But watching the 3rd inning, A.J. serving up fast balls to the home run hitting Blue Jays, I felt sick to my stomach. I would have started yelling at the T.V., but I was at the gym and didn’t want to get thrown out. My first thought for a title was who do I hate more? A.J. Burnett or Jose Bautista?

But of course I don’t hate A.J., he’s one of my boys and while he does disappoint, especially when I look at the pitching match up and tell myself, “He’ll do good this time, I know he will.” Then he does this thing and I wonder if one can be in an abusive relationship with a sports figure that you don’t even know.

When I got out of the shower I checked my phone, Curtis Granderson had hit a 2 run home run. That made me a little happy, then when I stopped to get a latte and my phone went off, Mark Teixeira with a 3 run home run, Toronto 7, Yankees 5 and I thought, they could win this! They have two more innings to score 3 runs! My boys will win this for me! It was not to be.

Here’s hoping they win tomorrow, err, later today.

~~and that’s all~~ lo dice la principessa 😛

