Friday, August 13, 2010 ~ Girls watching baseball

~~Royals 4, Yankees 3~~

I had my score sheets all ready to go. Names printed on them, boxes made and the bottom row with a diagonal line in the boxes for Runs/Hits. It was fun, writing down outs and hits and runs and … oh no, the wrong team is getting the hits! Wait, we just caught up. And then the rain came down, then stopped, then started again. The first delay was about 30 minutes and the second was 2 hours and change. I decided to go to bed. When I got up this morning, the score was the same as when I went to bed, so I figured they had called the game.

The game wasn’t called, they waited out the rain for 2 hours, then started play again. I couldn’t believe it, it makes no sense to me. The player have to be getting stiff after just sitting around for that long. Not to mention that makes for a very late game when they have to play the next day. Also it means that both teams have to go to their bullpen because the pitchers don’t come back after that long of a delay.

Back to scoring, with the score sheets I can glance at them and see the Dustin Moseley had a bad 2nd inning, giving up 3 hits and 3 runs. Then I can look at the other sheet and see that Kyle Davies had a bad 3rd inning giving up 5 hits and 3 runs. Then there was the home run, that put Kansas City in the lead. Yankees were unable to score any more runs after the second delay.

On another note, there was this commenter talking about two women at a game that were talking through the entire game. He speculated they were talking about shopping and other such things. Needless to say, he is very popular right now. I mean to say, a lot of people are talking about him. Writing blogs posts and such. I’m not going to go in the reasons I watch baseball, I already covered that in a previous post. I wanted to pose a question, why is it that we (meaning women) feel the need to defend ourselves in these situations? Someone suggests that a woman talking with another woman at a baseball game can’t possibly be talking about the game and all of a sudden we rise up in mass to protest (I am not condemning this behavior, as you can see from the post I referenced I did it myself) the statement. I freely admit I am not an expert on baseball, if you see me talking at a game there is no telling what I might be saying. I might be talking about the game, I might be talking about what I plan on doing after, I might be talking about my favorite rock star. I will probably not be talking about batting averages and OBP and such. I’m not really a student of such statistics. I enjoy watching my boys play.

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

