Wednesday, August 11, 2010 ~ Yes the Yankees DO Like to Come From Behind

~~Yankees 7, Rangers 6~~

Wednesday night is church, I don’t miss for baseball games. I do take my phone however 😉 Which is how I knew the Rangers scored a run in the first inning. When I got home the score was 3-1 Rangers and I decided not to turn on the T.V. I had a bad fan moment and said, “The Yankees can lose without me.” 😦

While doing other stuff online, which I can’t remember now what I was doing, I had Gameday on, the score crept up to 6-1. Javier was disappointing me and a lot of people. I tried to stay calm, not watching the game helped, I least I wasn’t seeing the melt-down.

Then slowly the Yankees began to gain ground, Sergio Mitre pitched to end of the 6th without giving up a run, 6-2. Kerry Wood pitched 2 shutout innings and the score was now Rangers 6, Yankees 5, thanks in part to a home run by Marcus Thames, who was batting in Mark Teixeira’s spot.

The T.V. was turned on for the 9th inning, Marcus Thames brought run #7 across the plate. Then Mo came in for the save, and the first hit by Elvis Andrus was a triple. So now the tying run was on third. Please forgive me Mo. I was preparing myself for extra innings, I might have even said some things to my T.V. I should not have doubted Mo, give up a save two days in a row? Even non-Yankee fans don’t believe that’s possible.

So after the triple, there was a fly ball to right field and Austin Kearns made a “shoe-string” catch (no idea what that means), next batter bounced the ball to Mo. And he did his lazy look to third base, throw to Swisher at first …. (O.K., top of the ninth, Granderson ran for Berkman, so bottom of the ninth, Granderson was put in center field, Gardner was moved to left field, Kearns was moved to right field, the only place left for Swish was first base) 2nd out. Then the next batter grounded out to 3rd base.

Sometimes I think Mo likes to toy with people. Time: 3:45, Attendance: 48,676. Compiled by MLB Advanced Media

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

8)

