Wednesday, August 4, 2010 ~ #600 — #600!

~~Yankees 5, Blue Jays 1~~

It started with a simple text message. “I’ve got an extra ticket for the game Wednesday, want to go?” The message was from T_, a guy I’ve known for years. Now, I would like to say that I, however briefly, thought about how Kasey would feel if I went to this game without her, especially since there was a chance Alex would hit #600. Truth is I replied with the speed of Robinson Cano when he turns two. “Sure”

Then the planning started, where to meet, where to go before the game for drinks, (“We could go here get Pabst for …” “I don’t drink Pabst, I’m a beer snob remember?”) what time to meet up etc. We decided we would meet at the bottom of the stairs to the Metro North train station at 11:45 and go to the “Spanish place with the 3 beers for $10”. I got there first today, stood around waiting, sweating under my Swisher shirt. He comes trotting down the stairs with a grin, happy to see me and we walk towards the bar. He tells me we are going to see A-Rod hit 600 today, his reasoning? “I was here to see Mickey Mantle hit his 500th.” Um o.k. whatever T_.

We get to the bar and order our beers. “It was Mother’s Day. My sister and I brought my mother to the game. They were giving away these gold, well not real gold obviously, pendants to the mother’s at the game. My mom kept it. I don’t know where it is now, my sister probably has it.” We had our 3 beers each. (He had 4, I had 2, he drinks faster then me) Then we walked back toward the train station and the stadium. I laughed at a shirt that said, “Hey Red Sox fans, your team still sucks”. T_ stopped to get a hot dog from a street vendor. I haven’t done that since I read that article: 10 Things Not to Do in NYC (1 of them was get a hot dog from a street vendor). T_ gave me the ticket with the picture of Mariano on it. His had Jorge on it.

T_ has season tickets, he got them with J_ who I also know. J_ is in Aruba so he gave his tickets to B_ who invited P_ to come with her today. P_ is a Mets fan. I pondered this, the perfect conditions, Alex has to hit 600 today. After stopping to get my usual hot Italian sausage on a roll and bottle of water I met them at the seats. The game was starting, Jeter got on base, Swish got out, Mark got out and Alex comes up to bat, takes a pitch, takes another, then swings at the next pitch, I was on my feet, T_ was standing next to me “It’s going …” I watched it sail over center field and drop sweetly into the netting over Monument Park.

My nail technician, who knows I am a Yankee fan and go to games, asked me one time if I scream at ball games. Her response to my affirmative reply was, “You are so soft spoken, I would have to see that to believe it.” Every person sitting in section 415 today can vouch for the fact that, Yes I can scream like a teenager.

The team went on to score 5 runs total, Phil Hughes kept the Jays to one run. Considering he had a cold and it was hot and humid, that was amazing. Mo came in for the 9th inning, B_ told me he reminds her of a cat when he comes in, he is so graceful and athletic. I have to remember to tell her what someone tweeted about the last out. How they were scared when the ball came straight at him, but he has the ‘reflexes of a cat’. Time: 2:59. Attendance: 47,659.

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

Plenty of praise for A-Rod after 600th homer
A-Rod youngest in history to 600 homers
Aaron impressed by A-Rod’s milestone
Yanks snap out of funk along with A-Rod
Yankees revel in A-Rod’s achievement

Tuesday, August 3, 2010:
Blue Jays 8, Yankees 2

