Wednesday, July 28, 2010 ~ Gentlemen, start your engines

~~Yankees 8, Indians 0~~

After two lackluster games, the big bats woke up, the game started with a bang and they hit the ground running. How do you like that? Yes I know, that was kind of corny. But that is exactly what happened. 1 run in the first inning, 3 in the 2nd and 3rd innings and 1 in the 4th inning. That was all, it was enough as A.J., Joba and Alfredo held the Indians scoreless. Personally, Joba got lucky, lucky Swisher was there to catch those two high fly balls.

Alex did not get his 600, I hope he does so they stop talking about it, so they stop with the stupid marked balls, etc. etc. I always maintain that the pink bats for mother’s day mess with the swings, I feel these marked balls are messing with Alex’s head. Just a thought.

Mark started things off in the first inning, then Alex brought him home, then in the second Mark brought in two runs. As it turned out, every player in the starting lineup except Jeter got a hit. Not to say Jeter didn’t do anything, he signaled to Cervelli which side of the plate to slide to, or was it Granderson? Brett Gardner got his 28th stolen base, and Cervelli threw out Crowe stealing second.

Robinson Cano got a home run, which was the last run the Yankees got.

On a personal note, I surprised myself with how much I remember about the players, not from reading everything, but just from paying attention to the games. I am now studying the boxscore to see if I can figure out how they count runs and runs batted in.

So a good day, a shut-out ball game, A.J. gets the win, pitched 6.1 innings, gave up 7 hits, walked 3 and struck out 7; Yankees are one win closer to winning the series and I got to see Andy Pettitte on Centerstage. Time: 3:20 (:42 delay). Attendance: 22,965. Compiled by MLB Advanced Media

Must C: Comical

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

