7/17 NY Yankees 5 vs TB Rays 10 ~ Yankees Old-Timers’ Day & No Haters Allowed

It was hot, brutally hot yesterday. The tickets were expensive so Sarah and I packed our lunches, took snack food and a couple of bottles of water, we should have brought a dozen bottles of water. We were early, guess Kasey is rubbing off on me, so we sat down outside the stadium and ate our sandwiches and drank one bottle of water. It was so hot the cheese on our sandwiches was melted, blech. They opened the gate and we got in line, and went nowhere. Finally, when we were standing by one of the doors, they opened it and we scanned our tickets and came in, whew! Out of the sun out of the heat, sort of and to the Yankee food court for ice cream in a helmet cup, another helmet cup souvenir.

Yesterday will be memorable for a few reasons. It was the first Old-Timer’s Day I’ve been to, A.J. got frustrated and cut his hand and someone spilled beer on me. Not just a little bit, the whole glass. It was just after the Ray’s had scored their 8th run and I thought this day is totally sucking. Well not yet!

When they introduced the old timers, they started with the stats of the players, then said the name. What was pretty cool, at least where I was sitting, was for some of the players, the crowd started cheering before they said the name, “Mooooooose”, “Gooooooose”, “Coney”, and “REG-GIE, REG-GIE” were the ones I remember. I even started chanting “REG-GIE, REG-GIE”, Sarah looked at me like I was nuts. I actually didn’t watch much of the Old-Timers’ game, it was so hot in our seats, we were sitting in the shade but the wind was not very pleasant, so I got up to walk around some.

Someone told me the Yankees normally lose on Old-Timers’ Day, I don’t know if that is true, but it was true on this Old-Timers’ Day. After giving up 3 runs in the first 2 innings, A.J. pushed the doors in the clubhouse and cut his hands. He tried to pitch some more and ended up giving up another run. So he was taken out of the game to be replaced by Dustin Moseley who gave up 4 more runs, then Chad Gaudin came in for the last 3 innings and gave up 2 more.

In the fifth inning, the Rays were up by 2 runs, I went to the bathroom, I came out and the Rays were now up by 6. I turned to go back to my seat and there was the guy with the beer, all down the front of my dress. So now my day entirely sucked.

As for what A.J. did, I can tell you, from the time I worked in a hospital emergency room, men do stupid things. All the time and they don’t have to be drunk or angry to do them. So just ease off A.J. He did something stupid. Time to move on.

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

