Sad day for Yankees and baseball ~ July 13, 2010

Unlike many that have posted about George M. Steinbrenner I am not from New York. I was born in California. As a young person, with my parents having no particular team affiliation, I felt being from California meant I was a Dodgers fan. This feeling continued even with moving to Seattle and then on to Florida. At that time, there were no teams named Seattle Mariners or Tampa Bay Rays. It was while growing up in Florida that I discovered the Yankees, mainly due to a pitcher with the interesting name (nickname) of Catfish Hunter. I think he got the nickname because of his mustache. My father’s response to my question of what team that was gave me the impression I wasn’t supposed to be rooting for them. That was another reason to root for them. But I was a good girl, so I wasn’t open about it.

Moving to New York changed that. I bought a Yankees hat, one of several, I currently have 5, 2 that just have NY on the front, 2 that say 2009 World Series Champions (one I got free at a Yankee game) and 1 that has #2 Derek Jeter, or maybe just Jeter, and when I left one at my mother’s house and asked her to mail it to me, she joked that she might send me a Mariner’s hat instead, I threatened her with bodily harm. I wasn’t entirely joking.

At the time I was what most would call a casual fan, in the past year I have become a very involved fan, going to games, watching games on T.V., reading about the teams and players and keeping track of the numbers. Almost(completely) obsessed with the Yankees and baseball.

Somewhere along the way, I missed the importance of George Steinbrenner.

Oh, I’m not saying I didn’t know who he was, I would have had to been living in a cave not to know about George and Billy. With commercials like this and watching Yankeeography about Yogi Berra and Billy Martin, I knew a lot about George. I’m saying I missed how important he was, what he meant to the Yankees and how he changed baseball. Call me clueless. For example, I thought he always owned the Yankees.

Now, as I read tributes and blog post and see how affected people are by his death, I feel like an outsider, someone who can only offer their hand and say, I’m here for you, lean on me. So that is what I am doing, to all my fellow Yankee fans and friends who have lost someone important to them, I offer my condolences, friendship and support.

Well, yeah, I had to include this commercial, whats a Steinbrenner post without Jeter?

~~and that’s all~~ she wrote

One comment on “Sad day for Yankees and baseball ~ July 13, 2010

  1. Excellent post, it was a very good read for me! It is a sad time for the baseball world especially with the all star game being played on the same day, but I am also surprised at the amount of praise that the man who was once known as the most hated man in baseball. He definitely did do a lot for the New York Yankees and I’m sure the city is very grateful for it. I also kind of like/hate the fact that I have a team to hate for in the Yankees because they just buy all their players. Also you think you could take a quick look at my blog cuz I really want to know what you think. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/greatest-owner-ever-hardly/

Comments are closed.