Not going to opening day

2 pieces of Yankee news, which I am sure you already know about.

 

The Yankees have unconditionally released RHP Chad Gaudin. Acquired from San Diego on Aug. 7, he went 2-0 with a 3.43 ERA in 11 games for New York last season.

I don’t really know what to think about this, I thought he did pretty good last season, but I am not making the decisions and they don’t have room for everyone in the bullpen. I read that the Mets are looking at him so hopefully he won’t be out of a job for long.

Phil Hughes will be the Yankees’ fifth starting pitcher, manager Joe Girardi said today. Joba Chamberlain will be given a chance to win the setup reliever role.

Will I be labeled a terrible person if I say I am glad Joba didn’t get the starter position? I think he is much better at relief/setup reliever for Mariano then as starter. I mean seriously I watched him pitch as starter, I was there the game he got booed off the mound, I didn’t boo, that is just not me, no matter what I am thinking I don’t boo. Except for Red Sox players. Except when I am watching on TV. Except when … 

On to my own personal news, despite Kasey and my best efforts, we will not be at the home opener. The only tickets we can get are bleacher seats for over $100 dollars. Kasey says we will find a bar near the stadium to watch the game, that will be like being there sort of. I did get tickets for April 15, when they are giving away free hats. YAY, I love my Yankee hats. These seats are in the right field bleachers so we will be able to cheer on Nick Swisher (aka My Sweet Nicky).

~~and that’s all she wrote~~

